Roasted Chickpeas

My sweet tooth has been in overdrive lately. For awhile, I was a very conscious eater and my will power was at an all time high. After my last pregnancy (which was two years ago!) I’ve slowly unraveled and crave junk, cheese and carbs. My favorite food groups recently, have been Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, wine and local craft beer. Ha!

IMG_7295

All jokes aside, I’ve got to reign it in and start putting moderation back in place. I cook the majority of my meals, so I’m usually ok and on track, it’s the snacking that gets me.

I made these roasted chickpeas to fit my craving of crunchy and salty. Think of these as a healthy replacement chip.

IMG_7297.JPG

Roasted Chickpeas: (adapted from the kitchn)

  • One 15oz can Chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • Sprinkle of cayenne pepper (to taste)

Directions:

1. Heat the oven to 400°F

2. Drain the chickpeas and rinse well. Pat the chickpeas dry with paper towels. Remove any chickpea skins that come off while drying, but otherwise don’t worry about them.

3. Toss the chickpeas with olive oil and salt and make sure they are evenly coated. Spread the chickpeas out in an even layer on a baking sheet.

4. Roast the chickpeas in the oven for 30 minutes: shake the pan every 10 minutes or so. (The chickpeas are done when golden and slightly darkened, dry and crispy on the outside, and soft in the middle.)

5. Sprinkle the cayenne pepper or spices of your liking over the chickpeas and stir to coat evenly.

6. Serve while the chickpeas are still warm and crispy. They will gradually lose their crispiness as they cool and become more chewy.

IMG_7296

These chickpeas are quite addicting and make a tasty snack to satisfy your savory cravings. Feel free to season with your favorite spices; chili powder, cumin or even fresh herbs. They also make a great topping for salads. Give them a try!

*See my awesome salt well? My husband made that last week and I love how it turned out. It makes such a stunning prop in my food photography.

Thanks for reading! xo

 

Leave a Reply

