Chickpea Salad

I have quite the sweet tooth and appreciation for classic comfort foods like carbs and cheese. Unfortunately, my overindulgence  has me off track from my lifestyle of “moderation”. I don’t like to cut food groups out, but I definitely need a bit more balance in my life lately.

IMG_6836.JPG

If you go back in my archives, you will see a post about my journey to losing 70 pounds! I had my daughter two years ago and I dropped all, but those last five pesky pounds within a few months of having her. (How did that happen??!) Then I started a new BC medication late last summer due to horrible migraines and the scale went up another twenty pounds. Terrible side effects-Sigh!

Sometimes fitness and healthy eating go on hiatus in favor of convenience and survival mode. I’m tired of feeling like a stranger in my own body and want to regain focus to become my best self physically and mentally again. It will take time and until I reach my goals I can only be kind to myself.

IMG_6837.JPG

So, in the spirit of all things new and refreshing, I’m sharing a healthy and delicious chickpea salad. My friend brought this dish  to work last month and luckily she shared the recipe.

Chickpea Salad- (adapted from the blog Spend with Pennies)

Ingredients:

1 avocado (Mine wasn’t ripe, so I omitted)
Fresh lemon juice (from half a lemon)
1 can chickpeas , drained and rinsed
1/2 red onion, sliced
1 cup grape tomatoes, sliced in half
1/2 English cucumber, diced
1/4 cup fresh parsley or dried to taste
1 diced green bell pepper
Dressing
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon cumin
salt & pepper to taste

IMG_6835.JPG

1. Add avocado to bowl and pour lemon juice overtop. Give it a good, but gentle toss.

2. Dump the other ingredients into the bowl and mix.

3. To make dressing, add ingredients to a small bowl and whisk together. Pour over salad and stir.

* Place into fridge for at least an hour for flavors to meld.

This salad would also, be terrific with feta cheese. I added some after the fact and really enjoyed it.

IMG_6838.JPG

Pack this up in Mason or Weck jars and serve at your family picnic. It’s perfectly portable, filling and flavorful. A winning combination!

Thanks for reading! xo

2 thoughts on “Chickpea Salad

  1. This is my favourite way to eat chickpeas and/or quinoa. I like that it’s quick to prepare and easy to eat. Congratulations on the weight loss! I’m also a big fan of sweet things.

    • I can see why you like to eat salads like this- quick and easy is my favorite too. It’s hard to spend a lot of time in the kitchen with two little ones pulling on me. Lol
      Thank you- it was an awesome feeling to dedicate the time to my health and I look forward to getting back on that road, with the occasional sweet treats thrown in. 😉

Leave a Reply

