Painted Terra-cotta Pots

This year my outdoor container garden didn’t get up and running, mainly because the weather had been so unpredictable. I do however, have fresh herbs growing on the windowsill and they are convenient for a little snip when I’m making dinner.

IMG_6568.JPG

Right now I am growing Rosemary and Lemon Thyme which are prefect accompaniments to meats and veggies. I love to roast my veggies and these herbs add a nice fresh taste.

I picked up a few terra-cotta pots and I wanted to add a little pop to them. I saw some sample size bottles of chalk paint in a couple of my favorite colors (pink and green) and decided they would add a pretty touch.

IMG_6567

This is another quick step project that doesn’t consume a lot of time. You can make as many or as few pots as you need. They also, make perfect party favors at a summer bash or garden party.

Materials:

  • Terra-cotta pots
  • Rubber bands
  • Chalk paint (or patio paint if keeping pots outside)
  • Foam paint brush

Directions:

1. Wrap rubber band around each pot- I placed my around the middle.

2. Apply, two coats of paint. (Allow paint to dry completely between coats.)

3. Once dry, remove rubber bands.

IMG_6569.JPG

Put your favorite plant or herb in the pot and enjoy! These pots are cute and add a nice two-tone contrast. These would also be beautiful as a centerpiece at an outdoor gathering. I really think it’s awesome when something simple elevates the everyday.

Thanks for reading! xo

2 thoughts on “Painted Terra-cotta Pots

Leave a Reply

