Puppy & Kitty Party

My daughter turned two earlier this month and to celebrate we had a puppy and kitty themed birthday party. She is really into animals and I think hobbies and interests are a great place to decide upon a party theme.

IMG_4877.JPG

Putting together party decor is one of my favorite things to do. It’s creative and hands on, which is right up my alley. To see the look of pure joy and excitement on my kiddos faces makes all the planning and hard work worth it.

I made a few banners to add some simple decorations to the space using construction paper and letters cut from the Ellison machine. I also, printed several book covers from Google images that fit the theme too and used them to make a pennant banner.

IMG_6384.JPG

I saw a cute idea on Pinterest, for a pet adoption center and thought it would be perfect at the favor station. I found super adorable stuffed kitties and puppies at Target and Walmart and gathered them in a wooden crate. I printed adoption certificates that I saw online and had gift bags to tote the stuffed animals home in. The favor station also included Paw Patrol fruit snacks and dog bone frosted sugar cookies. What’s a party without a few treats??

IMG_6450.JPG

For a simple activity I had multiple coloring sheets of dogs and cats and this worked out perfectly, since it was a rainy day.

IMG_6366.JPG

I decided to host the party after nap time so simple snacks were provided. Chips and dip, cheese and crackers, fruit and veggie trays as well.

IMG_6396.JPG

For the main event we had vanilla cake and cupcakes (chocolate and lemon flavored). I decorated the cake to look like a puppy and the cupcakes were also decorated to look like a dog face and kitty paw prints. The paw prints were made from jumbo chocolate chips and regular chocolate chips. These simple techniques made the cakes a little more custom and the birthday girl thought they were too cute.

When planning a kids party you want to make it fun, but keep it simple too.

– Pick one or two games/activities to occupy the guests.

-Shop your house for decorations  or make some of your own. (I tend to hold on to party decor and dug through my stash and found paper plates and napkins and used those colors as a jumping off point to get me inspired. I also grabbed a few toys from my daughters room to pull the theme together. Save money where you can!!)

– Reuse or recycle items (I pulled frames from my home to showcase cute art of dogs and cats and it really added to the decor.)

– Serve simple foods that require little prep work so you don’t miss out on special moments.

– Have one nice favor instead of a bunch of trinkets. The price usually works out to be around the same. (I also, like to have something edible for the child to take home too.)

These are just a few tips that I’ve learned over the years that make party planning more manageable and seamless.

What are your party success tips?

Thanks for reading! xo

 

 

2 thoughts on “Puppy & Kitty Party

Leave a Reply

