Styrofoam Sequin Easter Eggs

Making seasonal projects is such a joy filled process. I enjoy making things, no matter how simple, with my own two hands. In a time where it’s easy to get buried behind our phones or computers; taking time to create is just necessary for the soul.

IMG_5587

Over the weekend I made a few sequin Easter eggs using styrofoam eggs. I purchased the kits at an after holiday sale a few years ago and thought they would be fun to make.

IMG_5571

My kit came with sequins in blue and pink, plastic pins, foam eggs, blue ribbon and a pink bow. You can purchase all these items individually too and therefore design the look you are after.

IMG_5583

This project isn’t hard, only a little tedious. The end results are pretty and therefore worth it. My daughter came running when I sat down to get started. I was hesitant because the parts are small, but she really enjoyed handing me the colors I needed and I’m glad she got to be included. My son even jumped in to help too!

IMG_5579.JPG

Supplies:

  • Sequins
  • Foam eggs
  • Ribbon
  • Sequin pins
  • Scissors

IMG_5588.JPG

Directions:

1. Insert a sequin pin into hole of sequin and press it into foam egg. You can choose a design or be totally random.

IMG_5589.JPG

2. Continue putting sequins onto egg form until it’s covered.

3. Cut a piece of ribbon and use pins to get it to stay inplace. Add a small ribbon bow at this time if you’d like to.

IMG_5586.JPG

These eggs look great in a basket/bowl or even hanging from an Easter tree if that’s your thing. They sparkle and add a festive touch to your home.

Thanks for reading! xo

Leave a Reply

