Overnight Oats

IMG_5127.JPGBreakfast foods are some of my favorites. There is something comforting about them I suppose. Today, I am sharing one of my fave on the go breakfasts; overnight oats. Over the past few years this dish has become very popular and I’m glad to have it in my morning routine. It’s filling and super tasty.

IMG_5128.JPG

Mason jars work perfectly to hold the oat mixture and make it portable too. You can whip up a batch at the beginning of the week to save time also.

This is a very versatile recipe and can be customized to fit your likes. This week I used banana in some of my jars and then a mixture of blueberries and strawberries. Select your favorite fruits to keep it fresh and satisfying.

img_5125

This recipe is adapted from Kath Eats. She always shares wholesome and approachable ideas, which I appreciate.

Overnight Oats:

Ingredients-

  • 1/3 cup quick oats
  • 1/3 cup vanilla Greek yogurt (or yogurt of your choice-sometimes I use plain or whole milk yogurt too, whatever I have on hand.)
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used skim because that’s what my boys drink, but sometimes I use almond milk)
  • 1/2 banana or 1/3 cup fresh fruit
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • Teaspoon chia seeds
  • Nutbutter or granola to garnish

IMG_5126.JPG

Directions-

1. Add all ingredients (except garnish) to a bowl and mix together.

2. Spoon into mason jars and seal with lid. Place in fridge overnight to soften the oats.

3. In the morning top with a spoonful of nut butter and or crunchy granola.

*You may eat this cold, right out of the fridge. If you want to take some of the chill off, heat for a few seconds in the microwave, then enjoy.

IMG_5124.JPG

It’s a great feeling to wake up to a ready made breakfast that’s  nutritious and will keep you satisfied until lunch. I hope you enjoy these overnight oats as much as I do.

Thanks for reading! xo

Leave a Reply

