Banoffee Pie

img_5053A year ago, I was in Richmond, Virginia with my family and we decided to try out Proper Pie- a vintage style from scratch pie shop.   Stepping inside the small retro bakery was like a little slice of heaven. Many savory and sweet pie options. I was reading the menu and saw “Banoffee Pie”- I was intrigued and the guy behind the counter recommended it as being excellent. We placed an order to go and once I got home I reached for a fork and dove in. The combination of toffee and banana came together in a perfect marriage and ever since I’ve been hooked.

IMG_5089.JPG

I wanted to make a version I could have at home anytime. I also, served this pie for Valentine’s Day and it was a hit!

Banoffee Pie recipe heavily adapted from “First Prize Pies”.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 of a package of McVitie’s digestive biscuits (this is a British cookie and I found it at my local grocery store. You may sub graham crackers.)
  • 8 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • One 13.4 oz can of dulce de leche
  • 3 medium ripe bananas
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp confectioners sugar
  • cocoa powder to garnish

*You will need a stand mixer to make the whipped cream so place the mixing bowl into the freezer for a few minutes to chill.

img_5042

Directions:

1. Place cookies in sealed zip lock bag and crush with rolling pin. Place into medium bowl.

2. Melt the butter and pour it into the bowl with crushed cookies and mix with hands until mixture resembles wet sand. Press the crust firmly into a 9 inch pie plate and then place in freezer for 10 minutes to chill.

3. Spread dulce de leche onto bottom of crust.

4. Slice bananas and toss in a little splash of lemon juice to prevent browning and then arrange on top of dulce de leche.

5. To make whipped cream use a stand mixer with whisk attachment and a chilled bowl. Place heavy whipping cream, vanilla extract and sugar into bowl and whip until soft peaks form.

6. Pile whipped cream onto banana layer and then sprinkle cocoa powder on top as a garnish.

* Store the pie covered with plastic wrap in the refrigerator.

IMG_5088.JPG

This pie is really pretty and has such a wonderful combination of flavors. The layers are sweet and gooey and I’m sure it will be a hit at your next function. This British version of banana cream pie is one of my all time favorites and I really adore pie!

IMG_5052.JPG

Thanks for reading! xo

Leave a Reply

