DIY Bath Bombs

IMG_4974.JPGI’m back with the next DIY spa product in my little series; today you will learn how to make bath bombs. Six years ago I was introduced to Lush by my sister and old lady soulmate, Ivy. We had planned a wonderful girls day out and when they brought me to the wonderland that is Lush, I was hooked. Beautiful bath bombs and other beauty products displayed with precision. I bought up a bunch that day and since I don’t live super close to Lush and because they cost a pretty penny, I decided why not try and make some myself.

IMG_4975.JPG

I’ve been working on a spa gift basket and knew bath bombs had to be included. They turn a basic bath into something even more special. The bombs “fizz” and add color to your bath water. My kids love to use them too.

You need molds to make this project work.  I’ve been using plastic ornaments (they split in half) that I picked up at Hobby Lobby. They have served me well, but you can purchase metal molds on Amazon. I’ve even seen plastic Easter eggs used by some people. Get creative!

IMG_4976.JPG

I tried the recipe found on one of my favorite blogs; A Beautiful Mess. It works great.

This makes 3 medium sized bath bombs or two large. You can easily double the batch if you want to make more.

Ingredients:

4 oz. (8 tbsp) baking soda

2 oz. ( 4tbsp) corn starch

2 oz.  (4 tbsp) citric acid

2 oz. (4 tbsp) Epsom salt

1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons water

1 teaspoon essential oil (I used a Lavender blend from Young Living)

1 1/4 teaspoon oil (I used coconut- make sure it’s liquid consistency )

1-2 drops food coloring (optional)

IMG_4977.JPG

Directions:

1. In a bowl combine the dry ingredients and whisk to remove any clumps.

2. In a small bowl stir together the wet ingredients.

3. Slowly add the liquid mixture in with the dry mixture, whisking as you go. If you see the mixture fizz add the remaining liquid at a slower pace.

4. Once all the wet ingredients are combined with the dry, take a small amount in your hand and squeeze it together. It should stick together pretty easily.  If it’s still too powdery and loose to hold together, just add tiny bit more water and mix until it stays together.

5. Fill each half of your bath bomb mold with the mixture until it’s just overflowing a little bit. (If you want to add the Lavender buds like I did, add a few to the mold before filling it completely or gently press on top of bath bomb after you’ve removed it from mold.) Press together, then gently remove one side of the mold. Place the bath bomb on a towel that’s covered in wax paper and allow it to dry out just a little (10-15 minutes) before removing the other side of the mold.

6. Once you are ready to remove the other side of the mold, do so very gently. Make sure the uncovered side is facing down, then gently remove the other half of the mold from the top. These bath bombs are fragile and can fall apart very easily. If a bath bomb does break while you’re removing it, you can start the molding process again. I’ve had to do this before too. Try, try again!

7. Place the bath bomb back on the towel to dry. The drying process takes about 12-24 hours. Once completely dry you can wrap them in cellophane bags to give as gifts. Make sure you store in a dry place.

img_4978

These are fun to make and are sure to bring a smile. You can play around with different essential oils for a variety of scents and if you like colored bath bombs food coloring gives you plenty of options to work with. You can even layer different colors of mixture together for “rainbow” or two-toned bath bombs. Enjoy the process!

IMG_4973.JPGThanks for reading! xo

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Bath Bombs

  1. How fun! I bet they smell amazing. ^_^ I love the addition of lavender you did – that looks really cute. I may have to try these if I ever find time to take a bath (I’m a five min shower person at the moment, lol)

Leave a Reply

