Oatmeal + Lavender bath soak

IMG_4939.JPGThere is something about a handmade gift that really resonates with me. Using our own two hands to create something special elevates the appeal. I always appreciate the time that goes into making and in many cases it can save you money too, which is something I’m always trying to do. There are many wonderful apothecary shops popping up locally and online- they produce beautifully packaged lotions and scrubs and serve as inspiration in my quest to produce a DIY spa.

IMG_4935.JPGToday, I made a terrific smelling bath soak. It only uses a few ingredients and will allow for a relaxing bath time. I am personally a fan of the hot shower, but my kids and many of my friends take nightly baths. I thought this blend would be a perfect balance of calming aromatic bliss.

My mom celebrates her birthday this week and I plan on putting together a spa day gift basket and this soak will definitely be included.

IMG_4934.JPGI suffer from eczema and as a kid frequently took oatmeal baths. This ingredient soothes irritated dry skin and makes a welcome addition to the bath soak. Lavender has a calming effect and makes an ideal scent for this bath time treat. Epsom salts will relax your muscles after a long and busy day. So get comfortable and add a few scoops of this soak to your bath.

I researched several bath salt recipes and this blend is what I decided on for my needs.

IMG_4936.JPG

Ingredients-

  • 1 cup Oatmeal (I used old fashioned oats)
  • Dried Lavender buds (a couple tablespoons- use your judgement)
  • 1 cup Epsom salt

Directions-

1. In a blender or food processor blend oats until they are a flour-like texture.

2. Place the oats into a medium sized bowl and add the epsom salt. Give it a good stir.

3. Add a few tablespoons of the lavender buds and give the mixture a final stir. Distribute into glass jars for storage and pretty gift giving. I love Weck jars.

img_4937

To use-add a few spoonfuls to a warm running bath and enjoy a good soak.

Be sure to check back soon for the next item in the DIY spa series.

IMG_4938.JPG

Thanks for reading! xo

Leave a Reply

