Orzo bean salad

As much as I enjoy desserts, I shouldn’t eat them everyday. Because of this, I’m sharing a savory dish.  I’m a full time working mom and I normally pack my lunch, because I don’t get a “lunch break” and it’s much cheaper than ordering out. I have been trying to incorporate more fresh and balanced meals into my life. This salad fits the bill- pasta, veggies and beans. It should keep me content and satisfied through the long afternoons.

img_4851

This salad would be great served at a cookout or even placed into mason jars for a fun picnic outing.

Feel free to use whatever veggies you have on hand-  this recipe is versatile, which is great for the busy home cook.

Recipe: Orzo bean salad  (adapted from “The Forest Feast”).

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups dry orzo (cook accords to package instructions). Make sure you drain and rinse under cold water to stop the pasta from continuing to cook.
  • Diced red onion (1/2 of a small onion)
  • 1 can beans (cannellini or black-drain and rinse)
  • 1 red pepper diced
  • 1 cup corn
  • Cilantro or parsley to taste
  • For dressing: 3 tbsp olive oil, juice from a lime, 1 tsp chili powder and salt to taste. I like to use Himalayan salt.

IMG_4855.JPG

Directions:

1. Mix cooked orzo with onion, beans, bell pepper and corn in a large bowl.

2. Whisk dressing ingredients together and pour over pasta salad.

3. Add fresh herbs and mix.  Serve immediately

img_4854

I plan on taking this to work throughout the week and suggest adding a little more olive oil to keep the salad from sticking. What are some of your favorite lunch time meals?

Thanks for reading! xo

 

Leave a Reply

