Farmers market fresh vol. 4

Today was grey and the mist came and went during our trip to the market. That didn’t keep the crowds away.  A touch of fall was in the air and pie pumpkins even showed up this week. My son adores pumpkins and can never get a big enough stash. He picked a small pumpkin and proudly has it displayed in the kitchen.

image

I bought some really fantastic grapes as well. They are quite different than the typical grapes I buy in the grocery store. The farmer said they were an American variety versus the European variety we are used to. I bought both red skin and green, the latter being a bit sweeter. They both had a much softer texture and smelled like Concord grapes, luckily they were seedless. I am going to enjoy snacking on these all week.

image

One vender had a weekly sale on tomatoes, so I purchased a pint of grape tomatoes for a steal, $1.00! I plan on making a BLT salad for lunch this week. For the past few months I’ve been making a variety of salads to bring to work and enjoy at lunch time. It has worked out well helping me with my goal of eating more vegetables. What is your favorite type of salad?

image

I spent $12.00 and got a nice variety of fruits and vegetables, and I didn’t include everything in my stash photo. I bought a half dozen corn, grape tomatoes, green beans, apples, grapes, zucchini, pie pumpkin, 5 cucumbers, 3 bell peppers, new potatoes and banana peppers. The farmers market allows you to eat healthy for next to nothing. What did you buy at the market this week? I’d love to hear from you!

image

Thanks for reading.

xo. Jill

Leave a Reply

