Farmers market fresh vol. 3

Today, I went to Miller Farms Market, and purchased bi-color corn on the cob and a watermelon with orange flesh. I’m looking forward to trying out this new to me melon- Of course I’ve had standard watermelon and even ones with yellow flesh, but I figured it would be nice to try something new. This farm is close to my home and sells seasonal produce, has pick your own berries and a gift shop/market. The market has a homespun vibe and is full of country charm: lots of chalkboard signage, fresh picked flowers and many locally made products.

image

image

image

In the gift shop you will find tea towels, soap, pottery and many other handmade items. The use of vintage/antique containers throughout the establishment suits my style and many of those are for sale too. I appreciate that they carry locally made items to support local crafters and artists. Some of the products are a little expensive, but the quality appears superb and you are helping a local business, so to me, it’s worth it. There is something to be said about making something from scratch.

image

image

image

image

Miller Farms offers a CSA program (community supported agriculture) in which you pay a set price for a predetermined amount of weeks and in turn receive produce from the farmer each week. I think this is a super idea and would like to sign up one year. It helps the farm and you get a box of seasonal fruits and vegetables for your family.

image

image

image

I’ve been going to this farm since I was a child. In kindergarten, we toured the farm when it had dairy cows, in 2nd grade I took sewing lessons and now every year I visit multiple times with my own son. It holds a lot of memories for me and I’m glad to see it prospering as a produce farm. I’m wishing I had brought a bag of that kettle corn home with me. Darn! Next time!!

image

image

image

If you are local, I recommend stopping in for a visit. What did you find at the market today?

xo. Jill

 

 

Leave a Reply

