Fresh pico de gallo recipe

“Taco Tuesday” has become pretty typical in my home, especially since my son saw the recent Lego movie. I don’t mind though, because Mexican cuisine is one of my favorites! I mentioned in the last post that I wanted to share my fresh salsa recipe, which is technically pico de gallo. It contains raw tomatoes, onions, jalapeños and cilantro chopped up into small chunks. It is perfect paired with tortilla chips, spooned overtop of tacos or even as an ingredient in burrito bowls. Right now your garden or farmers market is stocked with tomatoes, so what better way to utilize your stash? This recipe can easily be doubled to suit your family’s needs, but as is makes one cereal bowl full. (Sorry, I didn’t measure the cups!)

image

 

Pico de gallo- prep time: 10 min

Recipe by Jill Lang

Ingredients:

  • 4 Roma tomatoes
  • 1/3 of a large red onion (I only had yellow at the time and that works in a pinch)
  • One jalapeño (This gives the salsa some heat, use only 1/2 if you don’t like spicy flavors and remove seeds)
  • 1 tbsp Cilantro (I don’t like too much, because it has a tendency to over power- add more or less to taste)
  • Lime juice from 1/2 of a fresh lime (this allows for a nice marinade)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Gather all ingredients and a good knife for chopping, a cutting board and a medium size bowl.
  2. Chop the tomatoes, making sure to remove seeds. Place in the bowl.
  3. Chop the onion and throw it in the bowl too.
  4. Now cut the jalapeño and add it to the bowl. (It’s a nice rainbow of red, white and green!)
  5. Chop the desired amount of cilantro and add it to the chopped up veggies. (At this point I like to stir the mixture up.)
  6. Squeeze the lime juice into the mixture and give it another quick stir.
  7. Season the final product with salt and pepper to your liking and stir.

See? So easy, this hardly needs a recipe!

* You may serve immediately or cover and refrigerate for up to one day.

imageimage

I enjoy making this pico de gallo and have even packaged it in mason jars to give to my family. It’s certainly quick to whip up and has a great flavor that can be used in a variety of dishes. Give it a try and let me know what you think. Thanks for reading!

imageimage

xo. Jill

 

Leave a Reply

