Farmers market fresh vol. 1

I enjoy spending Saturday mornings at my local farmers market during the summer. After breakfast, I head out with my son and we see what the market has to offer. This year, one of my goals was to eat more vegetables and by supporting these farmers, I can eat fresh seasonal produce. Exploring the market is fun and inspiring because the fruits, vegetables and flowers are such gorgeous colors and are always arranged in a neat and enticing manner.

imageimage

This week a new vender was at the market; Emerald Bee Bath and they make hand-made soaps, bath bombs and scrubs. The owner had her products displayed in cute peck farm baskets and used on trend chalkboard tags to label everything. Next week I hope to pick up a few to try out and will report back.

imageimage

My stash of produce this week included new potatoes, red and green peppers, cucumbers, banana peppers, green beans and peaches. Typically I roast a lot of my veggies for dinner- I enjoy the sweet caramelization that occurs.  I also like to chop up the veggies for use in my lunch salads. Maybe I will use the peaches to make a white peach sangria- it would be nice to sit back and enjoy a glass while grilling out. What do you enjoy most about your town’s farmers market? I’d love to hear from you!

image

xo. Jill

Leave a Reply

